How to configure for Sky Broadband

Discussions about ISPs, e.g. setting
DanK10

How to configure for Sky Broadband

Post by DanK10 »

Hello All,

Just got my 7800(N) and I trying to set it up with my Sky Broadband (I've used it for years and it came with an SSID, Network key and channel) via PPPoA but this doesn't work. Do I have to go down the MER route?, are there some other configurations I need? unfortunately for some reason I cannot gain acces to the web bassed gui on my netgear router (password malfunction).

I am not going to give up my new router, so in a worst case scenario, what ISP is recommended for the 7800(N)

Apologies I am a complete beginner at this

Best

Dan
AndyCap

Re: How to configure for Sky Broadband

Post by AndyCap »

You need your user name and password from you old sky router.

They are hidden from users but can be retrieved using software/web page. One of the old web pages went off line recently, have a look around the link below and I am sure you will find a solution.

Extracting Sky Router passwords - skyuser.co.uk

The User/Pass never changes so if you know what it was it should be the same and you may be able to get it from the router, try exporting the cfg file (save sttings) from the Netgear and then open it with notepad, look through the text for User name/Password. I am not sure if that works though with the Sky router.

As for using MER, I don't think that will work as it seems Sky is using it's own MER system.
DanK10

Post by DanK10 »

Hi Andy,

Thanks for the info I used the link to find the sky username and password but unfortunately it still failed to connect.

The settings on my Billion router were

Connect Mode ADSL (Current Main Port: ADSL)
Protocol PPPoA (RFC2364, PPP over AAL5)
VPI /VCI 0 / 38
Username ************@skydsl
Password ***************
IP Address Obtain an IP Address Automatically
Authentication Protocol Auto
IP Address 0.0.0.0
Obtain DNS Automatically Enable