Line Quality monitoring.

Post Reply
nozzer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:34 pm

Line Quality monitoring.

Post by nozzer » Fri Jul 22, 2011 12:58 pm

Anyone know of any software (such as DMT (http://img.mhilfe.de/dmt8.png), which doesn't work with the 7800 series) which will give line quality stats in graphical form on the 7800N? Something like the link shows.

Routerstats Lite works but only gives basic info such as up/down line speeds and SNRM.

dmsims
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:25 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by dmsims » Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:29 pm

Routerstats (full version) works very well

For the router search text:

Use this URL for the stats page (or whatever ip address for the router)
http://192.168.1.254/status/adslstatus.html

Tick Use source A, get the page and mark the stats that you want

Telnet:

login set to admin and password - cannot see an option to use a different password ?

Change telnet prompt to >

Change chipset, command set to adsl info --stats

Most of the telnet stats and Bits/Tone work except for Up/down connection rate and max rate - displays just 1 or 2 figures (which will be fixed)

nozzer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by nozzer » Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:00 am

That's brilliant! Thanks.

I've tried using Routerstats before but obviously not managed to choose the right combination of settings. The only things I'm doubtful about is when you say "get the page and mark the stats that you want"... there's a big list of commands that appears but how do you figure out which is which from it all?

Anyway, I got the bit loading spectrum working so most of the stats I want are visible. :D
Last edited by nozzer on Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

faircot
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:20 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by faircot » Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:24 pm

nozzer
I'd be interested to know how you've managed to get DMT to work. I've tried different versions and settings - but without success so far.

nozzer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by nozzer » Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:53 pm

Sorry faircot, I got DMT on the brain! What I meant was that I got the bit loading working in Routerstats. Error corrected above. I've not had any luck with the DMT tool either but Routerstats does the job, thanks to dmsims.

dmsims
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 22, 2011 5:25 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by dmsims » Sat Jul 23, 2011 9:46 pm

nozzer wrote:The only things I'm doubtful about is when you say "get the page and mark the stats that you want"... there's a big list of commands that appears but how do you figure out which is which from it all?
OK let's take downstream sync as an example - just highlight that number (only) and click the relevant mark button on the right hand side labelled RX Sync

Image

faircot
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 5:20 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by faircot » Sat Jul 23, 2011 10:24 pm

Thanks for that info, dmsims. Works perfectly.

nozzer
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:34 pm

Re: Line Quality monitoring.

Post by nozzer » Sun Jul 24, 2011 12:01 pm

Same here! Thanks a million! :D

Post Reply