Billion 7800N and 3100SN

jamesharrison75
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:42 am

Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by jamesharrison75 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:50 am

Hi

I have a 7800N and just bought a 3100SN. How can I set this up so it boosts my 7800 signal and allows all internet, access to my iTunes, wireless printer and drobo device no matter which AP clients connect to (7800N or 3100SN)? I had it set in repeater mode and lazy mode and my printer would be connected to the 7800 and my macbook would be connected to the 3100 and they wouldn't work together. I have the same SSID on both units, same channel and the same WPA2 encryption. I have tried both Lazy and Repeater modes and neither fix this issue. Should I kill WDS and add my 7800's SSID to the AP client list instead?

I love Billion kit but the documentation is terrible and because the English is so bad it means that it just confuses me!

Any help appreciated

Thanks

James

billion_fan
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by billion_fan » Thu Nov 03, 2011 12:46 pm

Try the AP+Client mode feature, this should let you select the SSID of your 7800N and connect to it, so it will repeat the singal.

Make sure the singal on the 7800N is more the 50% (when enabling AP+Client, it also shows the wireless singal strength of all APs around you) if the signal is lower then 50% in the location where you deploy the 3100SN you may get slow speeds when connecting the SSID on 3100SN.

I hope this helps.

jamesharrison75
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by jamesharrison75 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:07 pm

It has around 80% so this should be fine. So I disable everything else and just use the AP Client feature? Do I need to do anything on the 7800? Also, do you reckon this will cure my wireless printer issues and file access?

Thanks again for the response

James

billion_fan
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by billion_fan » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:44 pm

Yes just use AP+Client mode, there should be nothing else to do on the 7800.

Yes this should solve your printer issues, and file access, as the IP should be sent via the DHCP server from the 7800 to 3100SN to your printer.

Once connected check the IP address on your printer to see if it has the IP from the router eg should 192.168.1.105 (default DHCP range is 192.168.1.100 - 192.168.1.199), subnet 255.255.255.0, gateway 192.168.1.254 (routers IP is the gateway)

I hope this helps

jamesharrison75
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by jamesharrison75 » Thu Nov 03, 2011 2:56 pm

Thanks buddy. I'll give this a go this evening and let you know how I get on.

James

jamesharrison75
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by jamesharrison75 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:17 am

Unfortunately despite doing everything you suggested as well as also changing the SSID etc, I still can't get this to work flawlessly with my 7800 and will be returning it this weekend. Very annoyed as it should just work. It shares the internet OK but it just can't handle other services. Thanks for the help anyway

billion_fan
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by billion_fan » Fri Nov 04, 2011 9:28 am

What exactly happened??

The device should work as AP, as it says on the tin.

Did the printer pick up the correct IP?

jamesharrison75
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by jamesharrison75 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 10:45 am

If the printer connects to the 7800 downstairs and the macbook is connected to the 3100 then it can't print. IP is correct on the printer. Maybe a firmware upgrade or something is in order? I've spent so many hours on this and it's just making me more and more frustrated. I work in IT so I generally know my stuff so it's not as if I'm just bumbling through. It's a shame as everything else seems to work OK. I also have problems using the ethernet port too, even if the device plugged into it has a static IP on the same subnet.

billion_fan
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by billion_fan » Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:02 am

When your Mac Book is connected to the 3100SN, are you able to ping the printers IP?

Have you checked your printer settings and check if the IP is pointing the correct IP set to the printer.

If you can surf the net when connected to the 3100SN, then you should be sharing the same network.

Is the printer connecting via wireless to the 3100SN?

Sorry to be a pain and keep asking questions :D

jamesharrison75
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Nov 03, 2011 11:42 am

Re: Billion 7800N and 3100SN

Post by jamesharrison75 » Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:10 am

No worries and thanks for the help. In answer to your questions:

When your Mac Book is connected to the 3100SN, are you able to ping the printers IP? No

Have you checked your printer settings and check if the IP is pointing the correct IP set to the printer - yup and default gateway is the 7800

If you can surf the net when connected to the 3100SN, then you should be sharing the same network. - I agree so I can't understand why it's so flakey

Is the printer connecting via wireless to the 3100SN? - no, wireless to the 7800

Post Reply