Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post Reply
tinytim
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:53 pm
Location: Benfleet, Essex

Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post by tinytim » Thu Nov 17, 2011 10:43 am

What's the advantage/disadvantage of using 20/40MHZ over 20MHZ?

I see that it increases the spread over the channels but I'm not clear whether that's good or bad.

billion_fan
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post by billion_fan » Thu Nov 17, 2011 11:10 am

Hi TinyTim

20 mhz when enabled will make all N connection speeds connect at 150mbps max.

20/40 mhz will make the wireless connection connect at 300mbps max.

I would stick to 20/40mhz, the reason why 20mhz is there, is because some devices are more compatible using the channel width 20mhz.

I hope helps.

tinytim
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:53 pm
Location: Benfleet, Essex

Re: Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post by tinytim » Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:04 pm

That's great.

Thank you very much.

Tomken
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:31 am
Location: Co Durham

Re: Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post by Tomken » Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:27 pm

Mine is default set to 20/40MHZ and it's only ever shown as 150Mbs.

The only time I see it as 300Mbs is on inSSIDer
Last edited by Tomken on Fri Nov 18, 2011 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

billion_fan
Posts: 5294
Joined: Tue Jul 19, 2011 4:30 pm

Re: Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post by billion_fan » Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:01 pm

Tomken wrote:Mine is default set to 20/40MHZ and it's only ever shown as 150Mbs.

The only time I see it as 300Mbs is on inSSIDer
MyNw.JPG

Tomken, your wireless card might be N lite, meaning the max you get is 150mbps.

Or make sure you security settings are set to WPA2 AES, to get full 300mbps speed. Tested and working with a Belkin N wireless dongle.

Tomken
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 10:31 am
Location: Co Durham

Re: Question about Wireless Channel Width?

Post by Tomken » Thu Nov 17, 2011 8:04 pm

billion_fan wrote:
Tomken wrote:Mine is default set to 20/40MHZ and it's only ever shown as 150Mbs.

The only time I see it as 300Mbs is on inSSIDer



Tomken, your wireless card might be N lite, meaning the max you get is 150mbps.

Or make sure you security settings are set to WPA2 AES, to get full 300mbps speed. Tested and working with a Belkin N wireless dongle.
Thanks billion_fan, I think I came across that explanation before as it's just a Tosh netbook.

Security is WPA2-PSK + AES but always wondered why inSSIDer showed it as 300Mbs ?

Post Reply