fixed IP addresses - 7800N

Post Reply
billyt
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:09 am

fixed IP addresses - 7800N

Post by billyt » Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:14 am

Hi All,

Got my 7800N at the weekend, brilliant so far (early days), I'm just mainly tinkering with the settings at the moment to get the optimal setup for my house. WIFI settings will require the most tweaking, but I'll get to that in another post.

On my network I have three devices that I like to fix the IP on (appleTV, laser printer and synology NAS), how is it best to handle this on the billion. At the moment I haven't done anything and everything "just works", but how does the DHCP server/pool know about these fixed IP devices. Maybe it "just works" TM, but I find the options a bit confusing - how might I elegantly and correctly set up for these fixed devices?

Thanks

tinytim
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 4:53 pm
Location: Benfleet, Essex

Re: fixed IP addresses - 7800N

Post by tinytim » Mon Sep 19, 2011 11:44 am

Quite easy but not too obvious really.

Advanced configuration , LAN & DHCP Server. Then "Fixed Host".

In here enter the IP addresses you want the router to always assign to your devices. These must be outside the range of the DHCP server which by default is 192.168.1.100-199.

Of course you could always switch off the DHCP server & each device is configured with it's own address.

billyt
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:09 am

Re: fixed IP addresses - 7800N

Post by billyt » Mon Sep 19, 2011 12:43 pm

thanks tt,

Yes, I almost got there, on this page Advanced configuration , LAN & DHCP Server I see the

Range Start, Range End - in my case the defaults remain as 192.168.2.1 and 192.168.2.254

My router is 192.168.2.1
Netmask 255.255.255.0
Do those setting look ok?

So that range is the one to set for the DHCP pool, right ?
So I should be able to set that to say, 192.168.2.80 to 192.168.2.90 for example?
Then I put my fixes on addresses outside that range?

billyt
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 10:09 am

Re: fixed IP addresses - 7800N

Post by billyt » Tue Sep 20, 2011 10:15 am

** update **

I have nicely reconfigured the network using fixed dhcp address fo the servers...works great.

Do I need "static ARP" as well - what the bejeezus is that when it's at home?

sjypharm
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 4:01 pm

Re: fixed IP addresses - 7800N

Post by sjypharm » Tue Sep 20, 2011 11:44 am

I think it's easier to fix the IP address at the client end rather than on the router. If you upgrade the router software at any time you must reboot with factory defaults and your hard work setting up IP addresses on the router will be lost. To change the DHCP range of addresses goto 'Configuration - DHCP server - change the Range start and end and click Apply, then Save Config. Best to do a restart with Current Settings just to be sure. Make sure your fixed IP addresses for the clients are outside the range you just set!

Post Reply