802.1P Priority in WAN Settings for Talktalk Fibre

Discussions for BiPAC 8800 series: 8800NL, 8800NLR2, 8800AXL, 8800AXLR2
noriga

802.1P Priority in WAN Settings for Talktalk Fibre

Post by noriga »

Hi everyone.
I have a question over a topic I have no much knowledge about.
I have recently started using again my Billion Bipac 8800NL with a Talktalk FTTC connection after this was replaced with the Router provided by the company since I started to have some issues with UDP applications. Unfortunately when I reset the 8800 I forgot to take a screenshot of the WAN connection parameters and I have a doubt now in regards to the 802.1P Priority which nornally is set to 0 with most providers but I read in a post that with Talktalk this need to be set on a value of 2 instead. I have tried to look in the manual but I am even more confused as this tends to associate this settings to sort of application priority as in the manual "802.1P Priority: The parameter indicates the frame priority level from 0 (lowest) to 7 (highest), which can be used to prioritize different classes of traffic (voice, video, data, etc). Enter the priority identification, tagged: 0-1, untagged: -1."

First at all I wasn't aware that there was another way of prioritizing type of traffic but even if this is, what does each number associate with what type of traffic ?

Also, as I changed the parameter at least to 2 as suggested from a user, I have noticed a decrease in latency of 1-2ms and by the way I have lost 2ms by placing the 8800 back again as the Talktalk Hub gives me a steady 4-5ms ping to most UK websites.
Is there any other detail that might have affected the ping? My MTU Size is set to 1500 and I used the IP Over Ethernet connection, not the PPPoE.

I hope you can help me.
Thanks
noriga

Re: 802.1P Priority in WAN Settings for Talktalk Fibre

Post by noriga »

Ok, in the meantime I was researching and found this info from Cisco here which gives some reference to what apps get what number.